Six Chicago architects named to AIA’s College of Fellows

February 6, 2012

by Blair Kamin, Chicago Tribune

Six Chicago architects on Monday were named members of the American Institute of Architects' College of Fellows, an honor that recognizes AIA members who have made significant contributions to the profession.

They are George Hinds, who is recognized for architectural research; Leonard Koroski, recognized for historic preservation; and Susan King*, Jeffrey McCarthy, Steven Nilles, and James Prendergast, all recognized for architectural practice.

Congratulations to those honorees, and to Lawrence Livergood of the AIA Central Illinois chapter, who was also named to the College of Fellows in recognition of his having led the AIA.

All of you will now have the happy task of re-doing your business cards and email signatures to add "FAIA" (which, for the uninitiated, means "Fellow of the American Institute of Architects"). 

Chicago architect Linda Searl, an FAIA, was on the jury that selected the honorees. The new fellows will be recognized later this year at the AIA's national convention in Washington, D.C.


*Susan King is a Principal with Harley Ellis Devereaux. Ed Dean, and Associate in the firm's San Francisco office, was also elected to the AIA's College of Fellows. In addition to Susan and Ed, Harley Ellis Devereaux now has nine fellows. The others include Sam Bayne, John Dale, Peter Devereaux, Rick Hall, Dennis King, Gary Skog, and Art Smith.